Consistent Inconsistencies Part 2 FINAL

Do you ever over-explain yourself because you feel like people don’t get it or get you? It’s true, though. I see the look on some people’s faces and I think to myself, “This person doesn’t get it and if they do they are as blank as an unwritten check.” There are emotions in me I can’t explain and I’m afraid that if I try too, I’ll cause more question but if I don’t, people won’t understand me and I think it’s human nature to want to be understood, right? Then there’s the “real Tonia” that could give two thoughts on if you understood or not. Push. Pull. Who the fuck am I. That’s not really a question.

I’ve tried to think about why I feel this push/pull feeling and I believe it comes from my need to people-please. Right before I started my weight loss journey in 2015, I became the person I felt I truly was deep inside. The real Tonia. Then, I gained back my weight and I trapped her. I shut her up with a burger and milkshake because honesty she scares me a bit. I become afraid that she’s too outrageous, too straightforward, and most times too uncaring. I’ve shocked myself at some of the shit that comes out of that mouth on the fly – without apology. When that fight between the “real Tonia” and “fat Tonia” starts, exhaustion takes over and depression sets in and well, some of you know how that goes. I do believe that depression is the only consistent “thing” in my life.

The one thing I never want to do is to become so consistently inconsistent that I harm those I love the most and cause them to lose faith in me. That they would think what I say and do are excuses to avoid THEM. Now in my 40s, I’ve finally found people that are real and to jeopardize that would be heartbreaking. Perhaps the one consistency is that I continue to work on moving forward. That I find importance in continuing to work on my journey, working towards bettering myself, understanding my depression and simply being okay with being human.

Instagram @KirzArt

2 thoughts on “Consistent Inconsistencies Part 2 FINAL

  1. I sooo get you, girl!!!! I’ve often had the same thoughts and still struggle with who I am…really?!
    And 100% on finally having REAL friends!!! So what if we figured it out in our 40’s. I say, ” Amen!” Good for us. I love reading your blog. If I could write like you… I’d have a published book by now!😊

    Like

    1. If anyone gets me – it’s you! My 40s have been something else. I hit menopause, lost weight, gained weight, had surgeries, yet they have been the best ever. Crazy right? I think this is the time we learn and grow the most. A time where we get to learn our true strength. ❤ I love you! Thank you for your support.

      Like

Leave a comment